Gluten is a word that refers to the proteins gliadin and glutenin, found in certain grains.
What grains contains gluten?*
-
wheat (
Triticum spp.)
-
rye (
Secale cereale)-
barley (
Hordeum vulgare)-
kamut (Triticum turanicum - also known as
T. turgidum subsp.
turanicum)
-
spelt aka
dinkle (
Triticum spelta)
-
bread wheat (Triticum aestivum)
-bulgur (made from wheat, usually durum wheat -
Triticum durum or
Triticum turgidum durum)
-
semolina (made from durum wheat
Triticum durum)
-triticale ( is a hybrid of wheat and rye -
Triticosecale)
-
emmer wheat aka
farro (
Triticum dicoccon)I added the Latin terms because the "
tricicum" genus is helpful. Wheat, rye and barley all belong to the taxonomy tribe
triticeae; the red flag that indicates GLUTEN IS HERE.
The Oat Exception
Oats, (
Avena sativa), do not contain gliadin or glutenin, but many people who are alergic or intollerant of gluten, react to oats. This is because:
1. Oats grown, harvested, stored and processed on/with shared equipment with gluten-containing grains are contaminated.
2. Oats contain different protein structures, avenin, which
some persons with Celiac Disease have avenin-reactive mucosal T-cells, which might cause intestinal villi damage. (Some people have a gluten-like reaction to avenin, thus also need also avoid oats in addition to gluten-contianing grains.)
Certified gluten-free oats are available in some specialty food stores and online. Some people tolerate them, others do not.
*For a full list and more common names and products containing gluten, visit
celiac.com