Wednesday, January 20, 2010

Contact Food & Wine

Food & Wine magazine has an online recipe for Honey Spelt Bread that states "Good News Many people with celiac disease—an intolerance to gluten—can eat breads made with spelt flour. Lionel Vatinet sweetens his bread with local honey, which may benefit the immune system and help to combat allergies."

Not only is this wrong, it is dangerous. Spelt contains gluten and is NOT SAFE for persons with celiac disease or a gluten allergy.

Please consider emailing the Food & Wine web editors and tell them that this is not ok.

Please remove the inaccurate and information from Lionel Vatinet's online recipe for Honey Spelt Bread (

Spelt contains gluten. Spelt is NOT safe for persons with gluten allergies or celiac disease.

Thanks to Delightfully Gluten Free for bringing this to everyone's attention.

1 comment:

  1. Great blog. Needed by many. Very creative. thanks for being there. Keri (a.k.a. Sam)